Mommy To Be

I wish I could look back and think about how excited I was to be a mom once I found out that I was pregnant. I wish I could say that I had a huge smile on my face and big tears of joy rolled down my face, but that’s not what happened. I was sixteen years old and just found out that my life was about to drastically change in one way or another. My boyfriend and I cried together tears of complete sadness as I told him the news. We were both raised in strong christian homes and knew that this would greatly impact our families as well as us. Neither of us had it all together. I wasn’t some married, 25 year old woman with a successful career and loads of money stowed away. After one sleepless night, we told our parents the news, and as time went on I found amazing support in my parents. They still told me they loved me every single day, and I knew that whether or not my baby’s father chose to stick around, I would not ever have to be all alone.I didn’t want to feel stuck in a place where having a baby meant that my life was over. I could still create an amazing life for myself as well as my baby. I remember when loads of good hit me when people around me were constantly saying “Oh, you’re only sixteen. Don’t drop out of high school.” and that’s when I was finally able to cry tears of joy and have a big smile on my face. I was going to be a mom! pregnancy-test

Leave a Reply

