The Day I Met Jayce

When I woke up on Tuesday, September 8th, and I had no idea that the process of meeting my baby boy would begin that day. Isaac came over that day to hang out with me and by the time I went to bed that night the contractions were getting pretty intense. At 3 am on Wednesday, I woke up my mom to let her know that I was having contractions about seven minutes apart. We called my midwife to let her know what was going on, and we agreed to keep her updated throughout the day. The contractions were so powerful that I had to get up whenever I was having one. I didn’t go into the hospital until 6:30 pm that night, and I was dilated to 3 centimeters. They broke my water shortly after, and Isaac and my mom helped me get through every contraction. I had intentions of having a water birth, but you can’t get an epidural if you want to have a water birth. I ended up getting stuck at six centimeters for seven hours. It was extremely disappointing, and my midwife told me that the baby’s head was turn into an odd position. She encouraged me to get an epidural so that my body could relax and progress. Looking back now if I would’ve known that I had to get one, I would’ve sooner. The epidural really did help, so after 36 hours of labor (29 drug-free), and one hour of pushing I finally got to hold the love of my life in my arms. Isaac, my mom, Isaac’s mom, and I all cried the second he arrived.He was 6 pounds, 5 ounces and 19 inches long. He had grey eyes and lots of black hair. I was so proud of myself and proud that Jayce Braxton Olson was my baby boy.9-10

Leave a Reply

