For Mommys To Be

After having a baby, there is so much that I’ve realized. This is a random compilation of everything that I’ve learned, and I know that there is so much more for me to learn. WARNING: I get graphic and gross

  1. Nobody tells you how much more you’re going to bleed after you have the baby. They don’t tell you that you’re going to have to stock up on maxi pads, and use them everyday for the next SIX weeks.
  2. Prepare yourself with scent/dye free laundry detergent because you’re in for lots of laundry covered in spit up and poop.
  3. Speaking of poop…babies poop a TON. Stock up extra diapers and make sure that you have a big garbage can to get rid of all of those dirty diapers.
  4. After you have a baby, you don’t have time to do just about anything. You don’t have time to shower, clean, pump, or sleep. An extra ten minutes is something you need to take advantage of.
  5. I’m sure you’ve heard “Sleep while you can” huh? The struggle is that you can’t sleep with a huge basketball growing in your belly. Here are some of my tricks that came in handy when I was pregnant: get a sleeping pillow (or better yet two sleeping pillows) and put one in between your legs and one behind your back when you sleep on your side. Hot baths, stretching, and massages are great too!
  6. As a mom, you’re pretty much on your own. I was sixteen when I had Jayce, and I’m still with his daddy. Although, Isaac is a wonderful dad to our baby boy, Jayce lives with my parents and I. I’m the one who wakes up with him at 3 am, and I’m the one who deals with his crabby butt. No matter how much I complain, none of that is going to change.
  7. Time alone is something you need to take advantage of. It’s a rare occurrence to be able to do basic needs alone. I’m just encouraging you to eat your meals hot and with two hands. If somebody offers to snuggle your little one while you shower, poop, or eat, say YES. You deserve it Momma.
  8. You will NEVER love anyone as you love the little baby that you brought into this world. I’m sure you’ve heard that, but you won’t know just how true it is until your little baby has been placed on your chest after you’ve grown their sweet little body in your tummy for nine months.
Leave a Reply

