First Laughs

My peanut’s first laughs were the sweetest little noises I’ve heard in my seventeen years. He’s big smile, wide eyes, and high pitched noises couldn’t be mistaken for anything other than complete joy. Who would have thought watching Gipa(Grandpa) eat corn would be so stinkin’ hilarious? But for my little love it was. He must’ve thought Gipa was playing a game with him because everytime my dad opened his mouth to take another bite, Jayce let him think he was a complete hoot. I was even lucky enough to catch this beautiful moment on video, and I’m quite proud of myself for it. Just the fact that Jayce is happy is an accomplishment in and of itself.DSCN0363

Isaac wasn’t as excited about it. He missed his sons first laughs, and I don’t blame him for being upset.  I don’t totally feel that bad for him though. I wish he’d come around more, help more, get to know the beautiful human we’ve created, but he doesn’t…and I’m making my peace with that. I give him credit for not walking away, but the responsibility is on me. I guess the positives that tag  along with responsibility are being Jayce’s all time favorite. I’m his mommy, and he loves me most. I’m the one who gets to see his first laughs, and it’s the best reward ever.

Leave a Reply

