The Reality of Being a Teen Mom

Hello, my name is Autumn. I’m 17 years old, and I have a 4 month old son.

The reality is that some young girls really want to be a teen mom. They watch Teen Mom and that show doesn’t really reflect how terrible it can be when you have a baby so young. The reality is that a lot changes, you have to grow up a ton, and things are never how they used to be.

Most guys don’t stay. Getting a girl pregnant is not the same as an engagement ring. In general, making relationships work is pretty difficult, but you throw in arguments about money and child raising, and it’s is 10x more challenging to stay together. The worst part is that a lot of guys simply don’t want to stay. They’re not ready to be a dad, and they don’t want to give up their dreams for YOU or for that CHILD, even if you and that child deserve it.

Next, babies cost a lot of money! I was very blessed to be on good insurance through my mom when I found out I was pregnant, but my son only stays on that insurance until I’m 18, so when that time comes..I don’t have a choice but to find a job that offers health insurance. That’s just medical bills, add up beds, clothes, diapers, wipes, and toys, and your jaw will drop at the cost.

Education is affected my having a baby or being pregnant. You have to leave school for prenatal appointments, and if you have your child during the school years..that’s about six weeks (or more) of school you have to make up. After having Jayce, I turned to online school, but it’s so hard to get anything done during the day. I usually spend hours doing school after he goes to bed or before he wakes up.

I think what people don’t realize is how greatly teen pregnancy emotionally affects people. When I first started showing at school, people were pretty mean. I was told “My life is going to be so hard” and “You probably won’t graduate” and I was told I was stupid. In addition, I had to really get up my courage to even go to school and face everyone. The girl with the baby in the uterus is not the only one emotionally affected..her family, friends, and the father of the baby have to deal with coping to all of these great changes.

As I am pro-life, this is my encouragement to girls to focus on being a teenager and avoid pregnancy in the first place. Many resources offer FREE contraceptives, and I think it’s a great idea to use those forms of contraceptives.

Something to keep in mind is that if you find yourself in a situation where you are pregnant, I promise that you can do it..no it won’t be easy, but it is possible. Keep your chin up and always keep your baby boy/girl in the back of your mind in everything you do. Babies are an amazing motivator.

Leave a Reply

