Night Weaning

So, as my son is almost 8 months old, I know that he no longer needs to eat at night. He just shouldn’t be up 5 times a night to nurse. I always just give in to his wanting to nurse at night time because it’s just so much more convenient. Nursing puts him right back to sleep. Nursing if his comfort, and nothing else comforts him that way.

That being said, I just can’t wake up so much. This may sound selfish, but I just can’t. I decided to try to night wean him. It is currently 10:07 and he laid down at 8:30. He wakes up, I’ll let him cry for a couple minutes, then I go in to get him. After I get him, I’ll snuggle him, hold him, rock him, but I won’t nurse him. He ends up falling asleep in my arms because he really is tired. So I lay him down again, but within ten minutes we’re doing the same thing. I wanted to nurse him every other time he woke up, so it’d be a slow weaning. I didn’t want anything too sudden.

I didn’t want it to be like this. I just feel defeated. I hate hearing him cry. It hurts me. I hate waking up and nursing like 37 times a night (yes that’s an exaggeration, but some nights is totally feels like that). I feel sad and tired, and I don’t know what to do for MY baby. That’s quite possibly the worst feeling in the whole world.

I’m writing this because I desperately needed ten minutes worth of distraction. I needed something to take my mind off of my baby’s crying. I feel like a terrible mom, but I don’t know what to do. I just feel awful.

I’m sorry that this blog is kinda blah, but I just don’t know what to do anymore.

4 thoughts on “Night Weaning

Leave a Reply

