Sick Babies Need Strong Mommies

Jayce had been feeling “off” for about a week now. He was coughing, had congestion, and didn’t want anything other than to be held by me. On Thursday night, I could just tell he was miserable, so I gave him some Tylenol, which I something I try to avoid. Right after that, he threw up all over himself and I.

I snuggled him throughout the night. He refused to nurse, which is rare for my major comfort nurser. When he still hadn’t eaten at all throughout the night, I tried to syringe breast milk into his mouth to avoid dehydration. After that, he threw up again.

So I called the hospital, and they advised me to take him into the E.R. After a stressful to watch chest X-Rays took place, blood was drawn, and he had finally eaten, I was told that Jayce has double bilateral pneumonia.

We sat at Walgreens Pharmacy for an hour waiting for our prescription to be filled, and Jayce snuggled into me and napped. The only reason I am mentioning this is because it is so unlike him to sleep on me, especially in public. I knew he was so freaking miserable, and it broke me.

The next night (Friday) was a looong one. He would only sleep in couple hour stretches and barely ate. I had to hold him upright against my chest and walk with him until he fell asleep. There was a point in the night where it was just way too hard for me to do this all on my own anymore, so my mom sat out in the living room with us and helped me. I am so thankful for her.

Saturday was an emotionally stressful day as well. Jayce and I spent all day next to each other, and he barely had any interest in playing with his toys.

Today, he is feeling much better. He is still on 5 mL of amoxicillin a day for the next week or so. I have been periodically giving him his inahler. I’ve been offering “nursies” a lot too, but he is still not as interested as usual. He has had much more of a desire to play.

This whole experience in and of itself has taught me so much. It has taught me the selflessness that motherhood requires. I can admit that during all of this I felt pretty desperate for sleep. I wanted to sit down, and a small part of me was even annoyed that Jayce refused letting me do that.

More than anything though, it taught me that “Sick Babies Need Strong Mommies”. The strength that this title mentions isn’t the physical strength required to get up off the couch with our cranky, sick babies. Okay, maybe it is a little. Mostly though, it’s the strength required to look at your sick baby. It really is a defeating feeling when you feel like you can’t do anything to make your baby feel better. It’s sad and scary.

It really does require strength to be the rock you need to be for your sick baby.

Leave a Reply

